What's New

April 21, 2017

Young Entrepreneurs Featured at OTR Pop-Up Shop

Young Entrepreneurs Offer New ‘Cincinnati Landmarks’ Coaster Line for Sale in Over-the-Rhine Pop-Up Shop

Rothenberg, Westwood Schools Partner with MORTAR in Student Enterprise Program

WHAT: Fifth and sixth-grade students from Rothenberg and Westwood Schools, who have launched a student-run business called Dream Coasters as part of their schools’ new Vision 2020 Student Enterprise program, will roll out their new line this weekend. The students have designed sets of coasters featuring Cincinnati landmarks, retailing for $15 for a set of four. Proceeds go to a Dream Fund to provide funds for supplies to bring their ideas to life. Students will donate $1 of each sale to a local charity they selected.

WHEN: Saturday & Sunday, April 22 & 23, 2017– 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.

 1327 Vine Street 45202 (Over-the-Rhine)

WHO: Rothenberg Preparatory Academy and Westwood School elementary students, teachers, principals and coaches
Supporters from MORTAR, among the consultants and community partners who have shared their business acumen and expertise with students and school staffs
Prospective customers looking to support young entrepreneurs while picking up a great set of Cincinnati-themed coasters!

At the beginning of the 2016-17 school year, Cincinnati Public Schools started Vision 2020, a multi-year plan to bring students greater equity, access and opportunities by strengthening neighborhood schools with new programming selected in partnership with their communities. Rothenberg in Over-the-Rhine and Westwood School in Westwood selected a Student Enterprise Program. This program has served as an incubator for young entrepreneurs and their creative business ideas. In addition to MORTAR, consultants supporting the program include the University of Cincinnati Economics Center and Learning Through Art, Inc. Volunteers also have helped students sharpen ideas through a Shark Tank process, and Universal Woods, Inc. donated the coasters.

Attention Reporters and Editors: Coverage is welcome!


April 13, 2017

Finalists Named for Hawkins Educator of the Year Award

Western & Southern Financial Group recently announced 20 finalists for the 2017 Dr. Lawrence C. Hawkins Educator of the Year Award.

The award, established by Western & Southern in 2007, honors one educator each year in Cincinnati Public Schools (CPS) who has elevated the educational process in the district to an exceptional level through personal commitment, dedicated focus and outstanding results.

The 2017 recipient will be announced May 3, 2017, at a ceremony and reception hosted by Western & Southern at The Guilford Institute on its downtown Cincinnati campus. The award winner will receive a personal check for $10,000 from Western & Southern.

Finalists for 2017, chosen from nominations submitted by CPS teachers and administrators:

Rebecca Arlington - Mt. Airy School                

Ceair Baggett - Taylor Academy 

Sandra Bogle - South Avondale School 

Jeffrey J. Brokamp -  Walnut Hills High School

Aaron Brown - Academy of World Languages

Carmie Chambers  - Hyde Park School

Caitlin Halkiu - Academy of World Languages

Jessica Hartman - Hartwell School

Maria Hidalgo - Withrow University High School

Michael Jones - Kilgour School

Jenny Mauch - Pleasant Ridge Montessori School

Jennifer Miller - Rockdale Academy

Ann Myers - Covedale School

LeVaughn Neal - Withrow University High School

Melissa Ridley - Parker Woods Montessori School

Carla Romanos - Withrow University High School

Erin Sanders - Dater Montessori School

Susan Shackelford - Dater Montessori School

Caitlin Vagedes - Hughes STEM High School

Belinda Tubbs Wallace - Rockdale Academy

“Western & Southern recognizes that educators and administrators in the Cincinnati Public School system work hard and make a direct impact on our community through the children they guide and teach,” said John F. Barrett, chairman, president and chief executive officer for Western & Southern. “The Dr. Lawrence C. Hawkins Educator of the Year Award is a way for us to recognize and reward these educators for their commitment to inspiring Cincinnati’s children to excel in the classroom and beyond.”

Past recipients of the award (listed with their schools at time of award):

  • Melissa Estell, Woodford Paideia Academy, 2016
  • Krista Taylor, Gamble Montessori High School, 2015
  • Mary Beth Platen, Fairview-Clifton German Language School, 2014
  • Harrison Collier, Jr., Walnut Hills High School, 2013
  • Kathleen Donohoue, Sayler Park Elementary, 2012
  • Barbara J. James, Riverview East Academy, 2011
  • Nancy L. Johnson, CPS Turnaround Team, 2010
  • Angela Roddy, a consulting teacher for CPS, 2009
  • Kimya Moyo, Aiken College & Career High School, 2008
  • Sharon Johnson, Withrow University High School, 2007

Western & Southern’s inspiration for establishing the award in 2007 was Dr. Lawrence C. Hawkins, a renowned educator in Cincinnati who served as a distinguished member of the Western & Southern board of directors for many years. Hawkins, a member of the elite Tuskegee Airmen, earned undergraduate and graduate degrees from the University of Cincinnati, as well as a doctorate in education. He worked as both an educator and administrator at CPS before joining the University of Cincinnati faculty where he founded the College of Community Affairs. He was promoted to vice president of continuing education and metropolitan affairs and then again to executive vice president of administration. Hawkins served on several local community and business boards and was named a Great Living Cincinnatian in 1989 by The Greater Cincinnati Chamber of Commerce.


April 1, 2017

CPS’ Open Enrollment Period

CPS’ Open Enrollment Period for Out-of-District Students Begins April 1

Cincinnati Public Schools welcomes out-of-district students to apply online during April for open seats in our schools.
Applications for open enrollment in CPS will be accepted for the 2017-18 school year April 1 - 30, 2017.

CPS’ Board of Education adopted an Interdistrict Open Enrollment policy in January 2013, allowing students who live outside the CPS district's boundaries — but in Ohio — to enroll in CPS’ schools without paying tuition.

Students who live within CPS’ boundaries have priority for enrollment before out-of-district students are considered. Students applying under Open Enrollment must meet any entrance criteria required by a CPS school (such as an entrance exam or an audition).